Creativity Ambassadors

Creativity Ambassadors are Oklahomans of a range of disciplines appointed by the Governor and Creative Oklahoma in recognition of their national and international creative and innovative contributions.  The Ambassadors receive the Creativity Ambassador title and medallion from the Governor in a gala ceremony associated with the State of Creativity Forum.

Ambassadors have agreed to serve as representatives of the State of Oklahoma to further Creative Oklahoma’s mission to establish Oklahoma as a world-renowned center of creativity and innovation.  Ambassadors also share their ideas on creativity and innovation helping to advance “The State of Creativity” campaign. Their contributions include public service announcements, performances, speaking opportunities, and sharing their knowledge and expertise.

Oklahoma is indeed fortunate to have so many accomplished individuals throughout the world making creative contributions in fields from aerospace to music.  We are honored that these Oklahomans give their time and talent to make a difference and are committed to advancing creativity and innovation in Oklahoma and wherever they may be.

bart conners creative ambassador chair at Oklahoma Creativity




Chair: Bart Conner, Olympian, CEO, Perfect 10 Productions




Young Ambassador Award

Fullbright_JohnJohn Fullbright


Renaissance Award

Skydance Team

Mr. Hans E. Butzer, AIA, LEED AP and the S-X-L team For designing the Oklahoma City SkyDance Bridge.


Current Creativity Ambassadors

Suzy Amis-Cameron
Founder, MUSE School and former actress, Titanic, Twister, and The Usual Suspects


Elvin Bishop
Blues, rock and roll recording artist


Byron Berline
Three-time National Fiddle Champion and session musician with The Eagles, The Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, Elton John, Rod Stewart, Vince Gill, Willie Nelson and others


David Boren
President, University of Oklahoma and Former Governor, State of Oklahoma & United States Senator


Chad Burris
Movie producer, Oklahoma Territory Film Council President and Director of Yuwita, a non-profit organization


Lee Cockerell
Retired former Executive Vice President of Operations, Walt Disney World Resort and board of trustees member, the Culinary Institute of America


Graham Colton
American pop singer-songwriter with his hit song “Best Days” appearing on American Idol and Kyle XY.


Nadia Comaneci
Nine-time Olympic gold medalist; founder, International Gymnastics Hall of Fame


Wayne Coyne
Grammy Award winning rock musician, singer, guitarist, and songwriter for The Flaming Lips


Kyle Dillingham
The Ambassador in Residence for the University of Central Oklahoma, also the Ambassador for the Oklahoma City University and for the University’s Centre for Global Competency.


Dayna Dunbar
Oklahoma Author and motivational speaker


Gray Frederickson
Oscar winning movie producer – The Godfather, Part II and Apocalypse Now


Three brothers, Isaac, Taylor and Zac, natives of Tulsa; launched their own independent record company in 2003, 3CG Records, with millions of records sold.


Sterlin Harjo
Film maker, script writer & director – Goodnight Irene & Four Sheets to the Wind


Benjamin Harjo, Jr.
Leading American Indian visual artist, Seminole-Shawnee tribe; 2009 Lifetime Achievement Award, NAASA


John Herrington
Former NASA astronaut & US Naval Commander; First Native American in Space


Mat Hoffman
Six time X-Games medalist winner and 2002 ESPN Action Sports Lifetime Achievement Award


Wanda Jackson
Country and rockabilly musician and 2009 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee


Junie Lowry-Johnson
Emmy award-winning casting director – True Blood, Desperate Housewives, Big Love, NYPD Blue, and Prison Break


Toby Keith
Country musician and actor receiving four AMA Awards, five Billboard awards and two CMA awards; named 2004 Oklahoman of the Year



Garman Kimmell
Founder, President, Chief Developer, Kimray, Inc.


Erik Logan
President, Harpo Productions and board member, The Oprah Winfrey Network


Dick Lowry
Director, NYPD Blue, Crossing Jordan and director and/or producer of 60+ movies and mini-series for network and cable television including several Hallmark Hall of Fame movies


Hunt Lowry
Film Producer – A Walk to Remember, Last of the Mohicans and A Time to Kill


Ben May
Business Development Director, Epcot, Walt Disney World


Leona Mitchell
Operatic soprano vocalist receiving a Grammy for her role as Bess in Gershwin’s Porgy & Bess, London Records; and Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame inductee


Moore_BradBrad Moore
President, Hallmark Hall of Fame Productions


Nelson_BobbyBobby Nelson
Vice President and CFO, Sprinkles Cupcakes


Nelson_CharlesCharles Nelson, II
Co-Founder, Sprinkles Cupcakes


Sandi Patty
Christian artist receiving 39 Dove awards and five Grammys and Gospel Music Hall of Fame inductee


Dick-Lowry_WEB_150x175Lee Alan Smith
Chairman, Oklahoma Events, LLC


Thomas Stafford
NASA astronaut and Commander, Apollo 10; Retired, U.S. Air Force Lieutenant General


Dr. Jordan Tang
Medical researcher, Oklahoma Medical Reseach Foundation, discovered an important key in Alzheimer’s disease treatment


Jerod Tate
Composer and award-winning Native American musician, Chickasaw


Allan Vest
Composer, producer, and creative force behind the orchestral pop band, Starlight Mints





Michael Wallis
Award-winning Reporter and Best-selling Author – Route 66: the Mother Road, Oil Man the Story of Frank Phillips & The Birth of Phillips Petroleum


Jimmy Webb
Composer and musician and only artist to receive Grammys for music, lyrics, and orchestration; chairman, Songwriters Hall of Fame


Mike Wimmer
Illustrator and painter with 23 works of Oklahoma history on display at the Oklahoma State Capitol





2012 Creativity Ambassadors


IMG_1646Jesse Tabish

Lead vocalist for the new-wave orchestra band Other Lives




IMG_1266-50 croppedJane Jayroe Gamble

Author, television personality, and 1967 Miss America



IMG_1278-54 croppedDesmond Mason

Artist and retired NBA athlete





IMG_1312-60 croppedRich Taylor

Emmy award winning producer, past vice president of Disney Entertainment and Costuming, current Dean of the Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts



-1Sir Ken Robinson

The national adviser for Creative Oklahoma was named a Creative Ambassador for his work on Oklahoma’s behalf by Governor Mary Fallin. Sir Ken is the founding adviser for Creative Oklahoma and an internationally recognized leader in the development of education, creativity, and innovation.